Nominations open for IJ4EU Impact Award 2024

€15,000 in prizes for cross-border investigative journalism in Europe


Nominations are open for the IJ4EU fund’s annual award celebrating excellence in European cross-border investigative journalism. Three cash prizes of €5,000 are available for investigative teams that have pushed the boundaries in tackling transnational stories of public interest.

Nominations opened on 7 March 2024 for the fourth annual IJ4EU Impact Award, run by the European Centre for Press and Media Freedom (ECPMF), one of four organisations implementing the IJ4EU programme.

The deadline for nominations is 2 May 2024 at 23:59 CET.


Winners will be announced at a ceremony organised by ECPMF at IJ4EU’s annual conference UNCOVERED, in September 2024.

The IJ4EU Impact Award honours the innovative use of cross-border journalism and its effectiveness in Europe.

Last year’s winners were The Devils Is in the Data, the Xinjiang Police Files, and Unmasking Europe’s Shadow Armies. The jury singled out a fourth investigation — Peat Pressure — for special commendation.


The Impact Award is supported by the IJ4EU’s other implementing partners, the International Press Institute (IPI), the European Journalism Centre (EJC), and Arena for Journalism in Europe.



Any team meeting the eligibility criteria set out below can apply for the award, regardless of if they have received IJ4EU funding. Anyone is welcome to nominate investigative projects, including their own journalistic work, as long as the projects were published via a credible medium (e.g. print, broadcast television or radio, online, documentary film, multimedia etc.)  Investigations must have been published between 1 October 2022 and 31 December 2023.

The eligibility criteria are as follows:

  • The award is open to cross-border investigations published via any credible medium (e.g. print, broadcast television or radio, online, documentary film, multimedia etc.).
  • Nominated investigations must have been published between 1 October 2022 and 31 December 2023.
  • Nominated investigations must involve journalists based in at least two European countries that have signed up to the full cross-sectoral strand of the European Union’s Creative Europe Programme, which provides core funding for IJ4EU. Eligible countries include all 27 EU member states and the following non-EU countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia and Ukraine.
  • Nominated investigations need to highlight issues of common interest for European countries, and be seen to have strengthened European media.
  • Nominated investigations may have been published in any language. However, for investigations not published in English, a translation in English of the core investigation/summary must be provided.
  • Nominations must include any significant challenge to the honesty, accuracy or fairness of an entry, such as published letters, corrections, retractions as well as responses by the relevant newspaper or website.

A team of independent researchers will start to evaluate the impact of the nominated projects in spring. They will then be ranked according to:

  • Impact of the nominated investigation
  • Journalistic quality of the nominated investigation
  • Innovative use of cross-border journalism to cover a topic of public interest
  • Newsworthiness / added value of the nominated investigation to public discourse in the EU
  • Storytelling techniques

 During summer 2024, an independent jury set up by ECPMF will review the nominations (including a shortlist of the top 10) and select three cross-border investigations as winners. You can view last year’s jury here. Each award will be worth €5,000.


For more information, see the Awards page on the IJ4EU site and the relevant section in our frequently asked questions.

Read news by categories:

Related news

Press release

Feindbild Journalist:in 8: Angst vor der Selbstzensur

Die Zahl der physischen Angriffe auf Journalist:innen stieg im vergangenen Jahr im Vergleich zu 2022 wieder an. Nach 56 Fällen im Jahr 2022 verifizierte das ECPMF für 2023 69 Fälle von physischen Angriffen auf Journalist:innen.


Georgia: MFRR partners strongly condemn new attempts to introduce a “foreign agent” law

The undersigned media freedom organisations strongly condemn Georgia’s ruling party's renewed effort to pass a Russian-style foreign agent law.


Safety and justice: demanding accountability for attacks against journalists in Serbia

Commemorating 25 years since the brutal murder of Serbian journalist Slavko Ćuruvija, media freedom organizations unite to condemn continued impunity in this case.


Three years later: Still no justice for murdered Greek journalist

Three years have elapsed since the assassination of Giorgos Karaivaz, a veteran Greek crime reporter. Today, the undersigned members of the Media Freedom Rapid Response (MFRR) commemorate his death and renew demands on the Greek authorities to redouble their efforts to bring the perpetrators to justice.


Slovakia: Independence of Slovakia’s leading TV news channel must be protected

ECPMF is deeply alarmed by the actions of the Slovak government towards Slovakia's leading commercial broadcaster, TV Markíza.


CoE’s Recommendation represents a significant milestone in the fight against SLAPPs

CASE welcomes the Council of Europe’s Recommendation on SLAPPs, approved by the Committee of Ministers on Thursday 4 April.

Tags :