Joint request to all Members of Parliament of the Czech Republic to Preserve Freedom and Independence of Public Service TV

11 March 2020

All Members of Parliament of the Czech Republic

Today, you as Members of Parliament are going to elect six new Council members of Czech TV (Česká televize) out of a total of 15 members. Your decision will have a direct impact on the maintenance of independence of public service TV in the Czech Republic, which is already under pressure. Therefore we, the undersigned organisations, call on the Members of Parliament to take today’s elections very seriously. Independent and impartial media are an important pillar of democracy and an important source for
trustworthy information. Your decision is fundamental in preserving the freedom andindependence of public broadcasting.

We ask you to choose from the 18 candidates independently from any political interference or attempts to exert influence. The Council’s composition needs to be balanced and impartial. Revealed attempts by the head of the election committee for or against specific candidates must not affect this important decision. We consider such efforts as dangerous for maintaining international standards and the independence of public service broadcasting as well as freedom of speech in the Czech Republic.

Otevřený dopis všem poslancům Parlamentu České republiky

Dnes jakožto poslanci parlamentu zvolíte šest nových členů Rady České televize z celkového počtu 15. Vaše rozhodnutí bude mít přímý dopad na zachování nezávislosti veřejnoprávní televize v České republice, která je již pod tlakem. Nezávislá a nestranná média jsou důležitým pilířem demokracie a významným zdrojem důvěryhodných informací. Proto my, níže podepsané organizace, vás vyzýváme, abyste k dnešní volbě přistoupili s velkou vážností, zodpovědně a s cílem zachovat svobodu a nezávislost veřejnoprávní televize.

Žádáme vás, abyste zvolili z 18 kandidátů nezávisle na jakémkoli politickém zásahu nebo pokusech o ovlivnění. Složení Rady musí být vyvážené a nestranné. Lobbistické pokusy ve prospěch nebo proti konkrétním kandidátům nesmí toto důležité rozhodnutí ovlivnit.
Takové snahy považujeme za nebezpečné pro udržení mezinárodních standardů a nezávislosti veřejnoprávního vysílání a svobodu projevu v České republice.


Yours sincerely,

Lutz Kinkel, Managing Director, European Centre for Press and Media Freedom (ECPMF)
Mogens Blicher Bjerregård, President, European Federation of Journalists (EFJ)

Read news by categories:

EFJ logo

Launch of the German Press Freedom Police Codex in Leipzig


MFRR calls on Turkey to immediately stop the judicial harassment of Can Dündar and to drop all charges against him

Press release

Report It campaign to highlight threats against journalists and media workers and encourage everyone to speak up and speak out

The European Centre for Press and Media Freedom (ECPMF), which coordinates the Media Freedom Rapid Response (MFRR) has today launched the ‘Report It’ campaign amid increased threats to journalists and media workers across Europe. In addition to creating awareness about different threats to press and media freedom, the Report It campaign encourages everyone to speak up and speak out against violations that they witness or experience in this regard.


ECPMF and MFRR partners write letter to the Greek authorities voicing concern over restricted access for media workers to Moria refugee camp

The Greek authorities are undermining press freedom and threatening the public’s right to know by restricting access for media workers to sites where refugees and asylum seekers are held following the fire that destroyed the Moria camp


MFRR partners write letter of concern to Albanian government regarding the plan to amend the country’s audio visual laws

We are writing to express our grave concern about the apparent plans of the Parliament of Albania to ignore the issues raised in Venice Commission Opinion No. 980/2020 of 19 June 2020, further threatening press freedom and the right to freedom of expression and to information in Albania.


ECPMF sign joint statement issuing 5 demands for an ambitious European Democracy Action Plan

Democracies in Europe have been faced with numerous challenges over the past decade, including increasing political polarisation, closing democratic space, increased mass surveillance, popular disillusionment with representative politics and democratic institutions, and increasingly assertive authoritarian global players. There is widespread recognition of the fact that democracy is under pressure across the world.