Call for the Busek SEEMO Award 2016

The South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO) calls for nominations for the 2016 Dr Erhard Busek-SEEMO Award for Better Understanding in South, Eastern and Central Europe. Eligible to be nominated are journalists, editors, media executives, media experts, writers or journalism trainers in South, East and Central Europe who have contributed to promoting better understanding in the region and have worked towards ending minority-related problems, ethnic divisions, racism, xenophobia, gender discrimination, homophobia and alike. The winner will be awarded EUR 3,000.

The award is sponsored by Dr. Erhard Busek, former Vice-Chancellor of Austria, Jean Monnet Professor ad personam, President of the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe, Coordinator of the Southeast European Cooperative Initiative (SECI) and Former Special Coordinator of the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe.

The deadline for applications is 31 July 2016, 12:00 Central European Time. All application materials must be received by email and registered post at the SEEMO office by the deadline.

The candidates must come from, work in or cover the following geographic area (SEEMO region):
Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia (Republic of Macedonia / FYROM), Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

To nominate a candidate for the 2016 Dr. Erhard Busek-SEEMO Award for Better Understanding in South, Eastern and Central Europe, please send the following documents (in English):

1. Letter of nomination with basic details about the candidate and the reasons why you would like to nominate them

2. Curriculum Vitae of the candidate

3. Additional material: please include a list of the candidate's merits; information about the media outlet(s) that have published and/or broadcast the candidate's work; relevant material, including copies of articles, TV, video or radio material on a USB-stick.
Video, audio and print material in local languages should be accompanied by a short synopsis in English. If materials are available online, please send a document that lists the relevant links as supporting material. Additional materials MUST be sent as hard copies by registered post only, not by email.
Unfortunately, additional materials cannot be returned. Please make sure to send copies rather than original material.

4. Your contact information: name; address; cell phone, phone and fax number, email address

5. Candidate's contact information: name, address, phone number and email address

6. If you would like to nominate a media outlet, an organisation or an institution, please include details about the person who would accept the award on its behalf

7. If your nomination is supported by an organisation or a media outlet, please send us the name, email and phone of a contact person from the institution supporting your nomination and a short supporting letter

8. If your nomination is supported by an individual or individuals, please send us their details, contact information (email, phone) and a short supporting letter

Materials listed in points 1, 2 and 4-8 should be sent by both email to, and by registered post to the SEEMO office in Vienna, Austria (address below). Documents and materials listed in point 3 should be sent ONLY by registered post to the SEEMO office in Vienna, Austria:

Ms. Anna Schmidt - for BUSEK AWARD
South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO)
(IPI office)
Spiegelgasse 2 / 29
1010 Vienna

The winner will be chosen by an international jury composed of distinguished journalists and media experts. Members of the jury cannot be nominated for the award.

An official press release in November 2016 will announce the winner.

The award will be presented on 23 November 2016 in Belgrade, Serbia, by Dr. Erhard Busek during the annual meeting of the Commission on Media Policy. The winner will be invited to the presentation. Travel expenses of the winner will be covered.

Previous winners of the Dr. Erhard Busek-SEEMO Award for Better Understanding in South East Europe are:

  • Radomir Licina (Serbia) founder and senior editor daily Danas
  • Željka Lekić-Subašić (Bosnia and Herzegovina), head of ERNO (Eurovision News Exchange for Southeast Europe) Coordination Office
  • Nenad Šebek (Greece) executive director of the Center for Democracy and Reconciliation in Southeast Europe (CDRSEE) in Thessaloniki for 12 years, developing and working on a wide variety of programmes, from the joint history project to the regional television talk show “Vicinities"
  • International Academy (Serbia) for the project Media and Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities
  • Jeta Xharra (Kosovo) director of the Balkan Investigative Reporting Network (BIRN), as well as a presenter on, and the editor-in-chief of, "Life in Kosovo"
  • Drago Hedl, (Croatia) journalist, Zagreb-based daily Jutarnji List
  • Omer Karabeg (Bosnia and Herzegovina), journalist, South Slavic and Albanian Language Service program of Radio Free Europe (RFE/RL), founder and editor of the radio program Most (Bridge), Prague, Czech Republic
  • Boris Bergant (Slovenia), co-founder of the Alpe Adria broadcasting project, former deputy-president of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and former deputy director of Radio Television Slovenia
  • Brankica Stankovic (Serbia), author of the TV program ‘Insajder’, produced by B92 Television, Belgrade, Serbia
  • Milena Dimitrova (Bulgaria), columnist, Sofia-based daily Trud, Bulgaria
  • Danko Plevnik (Croatia), columnist, Split-based daily Slobodna Dalmacija
  • Brankica Petkovic (Slovenia), Head of the Center for Media Policy, Peace Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Kemal Kurspahic (Bosnia and Herzegovina / USA), editor-in-chief of the Sarajevo-based daily Oslobodjenje during the war in Bosnia and Herzegovina and author of Prime Time Crime
  • Denis Latin (Croatia) author of the TV program ‘Latinica’, Croatian Radio Television (HRT)

For questions and more information please write to

Creative Commons LicenseThis article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.
Source information: This article was originally published by the European Centre for Press and Media Freedom –