Awards for all - but watch out for the deadlines

by Philllip Filipovski
The New Year brings a long list of new opportunities to win fame and fortune through journalism, investigations, or even social media. Many of the top prizes have deadlines in January and February. Here are some highlights, and there are many more at the website of our partner organisation

Leipzig Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media 2016

The Media Foundation of the Sparkasse Leipzig honours persons and institutions from all over the world who dedicate themselves to ensuring and developing the freedom of the press by demonstrating a willingness to take risks, strong personal commitment, persistence, courage and democratic conviction with its 30,000 euros Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media. We look forward to your (briefly justified) proposals until the deadline 29 February, 2016.

Send to


Hamburg Germany
Global competition for modern media   |  Film, Television, Print, Web and Web TV productions / Worldwide entries are invited.

More than a Corporate Film Festival the WorldMediaFestival is a global competition
dedicated to recognizing excellence in branded content from the areas of information, education
and entertainment.

FEB 15, 2016 is the final late closing date for Festival entries

May 11, 2016 Awards ceremony in Hamburg, Germany


Ancil Payne Awards for Ethics in Journalism

University of Oregon
The award honours journalists who inspire public trust and demonstrate exceptional journalism ethics behaviour. All documents should be sent to with subject line “Ancil Payne Award nomination.” Nominations are accepted year round. To be considered for the 2015 Ancil Payne Award for Ethics in Journalism, all nomination materials must be received by Monday, February 15, 2016.


Anthony Shadid Award 2016

University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Journalism Ethics
One journalist or team will be recognised for reporting on a story or series with ethical excellence — by seeking and reporting truth, minimising harm, acting independently, and remaining accountable.

The deadline for submissions is in February 1, 2016.


NPPA's Best of Photojournalism

National Press Photographers Association
This long-standing visual journalism competition recognises the most talented professionals in still, video, multimedia and editing. Photojournalism competitions will open for entry on January 4, 2016.


The Data Journalism Awards 2016

Global Editors Network
The Data Journalism Awards 2016 will be awarding a 1,000€ prize to each of twelve different categories. The award is an international contest recognizing outstanding work in data journalism worldwide.  The deadline for submissions is Sunday 10 April 2016 at 23:59 GMT.


Edward R. Murrow Awards

Radio Television Digital News Association
The award honours outstanding achievements in electronic journalism and is presented to news organisations. The 2016 contest entry period opened on December 1, 2015 and closes on February 5, 2016.


European Digital Media Awards

World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers
The awards honour European publishers that have excelled in their digital offerings.

5 February 2016: Registration closes
14 February 2016: Deadline for uploading of entries


ICFJ Awards

International Center for Journalists
The International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) seeks nominations for the 2016 Knight International Journalism Awards. The Awards recognize journalists who, through their pioneering work or technological innovations, produce quality news and information that make a significant impact on the lives of people in the developing world. Nominees can be reporters, editors, technologists, media managers, citizen journalists or bloggers.

All nominations must be submitted by 11:59 pm Eastern time, Wednesday, February 17, 2016.


I.F. Stone Awards

The Investigative Fund
Winners of the I.F. Stone Award will receive funding to cover the reporting costs of a project proposal, up to a maximum of $10,000; editorial guidance from Investigative Fund editors; access to such subscription services as Nexis and Accurint; and assistance with placement of the investigation in a print, online or broadcast outlet.

The first step in applying is to send a story query and a budget request to

Deadline: October 30, 2016


2016 Mirror Awards

Syracuse University S. I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
The Mirror Awards honour excellence in media industry reporting in various categories for various forms of media. The call for entries is generally in December.

The competition is open to anyone who conducts reporting, commentary or criticism of the media industries. Eligible work includes print, broadcast and online editorial content focusing on the development or distribution of news and entertainment.

All nominations must be submitted no later than February 15, 2016


Pulitzer Prizes

Columbia University

The Pulitzer Prize awards achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition. Entries must be submitted online. Entries on paper are no longer accepted. Payment of $50 entry fee is by credit card only.
Deadline: January 25, 2016


Selden Ring Award

University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
The Selden Ring Award highlights the importance of investigative journalism in modern day reporting. Nominations and supporting materials must be uploaded by January 29, 2016.


Shorty Awards

The Shorty Awards honour the best of social media. Millions of people participate in The Shortys to recognise individuals and organisations producing great content on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube, Foursquare and the rest of the social web.
Regular entry deadline February 11th, 2016


Webby Awards

The Webby Awards honour the best of the web, from multimedia to digital journalism to interactive publishing to online campaigns. The 20th Annual Webby Awards' Extended Entry Deadline is January 29, 2016.