Apply: CEI SEEMO Award for young and professional journalists from SEE

The Central European Initiative (CEI) and the South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO), in special partnership with the Media Program South East Europe of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS), have opened the Call for Applications 2016 of the CEI SEEMO Award for Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism. The Call is divided into two categories:


Professional journalists

4.000 EUR


Young PROFESSIONAL Journalists

(born on or after 1/1/1986)

1.000 EUR

The Award, launched in 2008, aims to honour the work carried out by investigative journalists and their contribution to investigative reporting despite the difficult conditions under which they often have to operate.

Applications will be examined by an international jury made up of distinguished journalists and media experts from the region, which may also include winners of previous editions of the Award.

The awarding ceremony will take place during the South East Europe Media Forum (SEEMF) in Belgrade, Serbia, on 21-22 November 2016.



The Call is open to nationals of the 18 CEI Member States: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.
Print, Radio, TV, news agencies and Internet media are admitted.  

For Category 1, candidates should have been actively engaged in investigative reporting over the last two years and should still be active in journalism. Two samples of journalistic work will be relevant for the evaluation by the jury.

For Category 2, candidates should have been actively involved in investigative reporting, even in the context of training activities organised by schools/universities/NGOs and, as a result, should have published at least one investigative story meeting all professional standards. One sample of journalistic work will be relevant for the evaluation by the jury.  

Submission modalities

Candidates have to be recommended by trustworthy individuals, journalism and media organisations, media companies, civil society organisations, journalism schools or universities, trade unions or other social organisations from the target countries. The nominator should write a recommendation letter and make it available to the nominee/candidate.
The nominees/candidates have to go through an online application procedure and provide all necessary documents for the application in digital form (see details below).


Candidates shall fill in an Online Application Form available here:

The following documents in PDF format shall be uploaded:
1.   Curriculum Vitae (personal and professional data sheet according to Europass format or similar);
2.   A recommendation letter;
3.   Up to three samples of journalistic work in a single PDF document (minimum two samples in Category 1, one sample in Category 2). For online work samples, insert hyperlinks in a PDF document, or print out online articles in a PDF file. Hyperlinks need to be accessible at least until 30 June 2016. In case of audio/video material, please upload the files making use of file-sharing services (e.g. WeTransfer or Dropbox) including a script or scenario.
Material prepared in local languages should be accompanied by a short summary in English.


The jury will take into account the relevance of the matters covered by the reports, which should have a focus on the target countries, as well as the quality of reporting in terms of documentation, data, writing and production. The personal risks taken while performing the duties as well as the impact on society of the messages conveyed will also be evaluated.   


Applications shall be submitted by Tuesday, 31 May 2016 (23.59 CEST).  

For further information:


2015    Aleksandra Bogdani (Albania) in the section “Professional Journalists”; Nadia Burdey (Ukraine) in the section “Young Professional Journalists” - Special mention to Mirko Boskovic, Vlado Otasevic and Ana Komatina  (Montenegro)

2014    Brankica Stanković (Serbia) in the section “Professional Journalists”; Sadeta Fišić, Jovana Kljajić and Maida Salkanović (Bosnia and Herzegovina) in the section “Young Professional Journalists” – Special mention to Anna Babinets (Ukraine)

2013       Mahir Šahinović (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and Rosen Tsvetkov (Bulgaria) - Special mention to Investigative Reporting Project Italy (IRPI)

2012       Matej Surc and Blaz Zgaga (Slovenia) - Special investigative diploma to Telnis Skuqi (Albania) and special mention to CIN Sarajevo

2011       Włodzmierz Kalicki (Poland) - Special investigative journalism diploma to Artan Hoxha (Albania), Dijana Subotički (Serbia) and to Matej Surcand Blaz Zgaga (Slovenia)

2010       Adrian Mogoş (Romania) - Special mention to Iryna Khalip (Belarus) and Lydia Pavlova (Bulgaria)

2009       Besar Likmeta (Albania) - Special mention to Esad Hecimovic (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and Stefan Candea (Romania)

2008    Drago Hedl (Croatia)


Central European Initiative (CEI) -
The CEI is a regional intergovernmental forum committed to supporting European integration through cooperation between and among its Member States and with the European Union, other interested public institutions or private and non-governmental organisations, as well as international and regional organisations. In order to offer a solid contribution to European integration the CEI combines multilateral diplomacy and project management, both as donor and recipient, while also bridging European macro-regions. The CEI, whose Headquarters is located in Trieste, is composed of 18 Member States: 10 EU members (Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia) and 8 non-EU members (Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Ukraine). In December 2011, the CEI was granted the Observer Status in the General Assembly of the United Nations.

South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO) -
The SEEMO is a regional non-governmental, non-profit network of editors, media executives and leading journalists from newspapers, magazines, radio and TV stations, news agencies and news media in South East and Central Europe. With its committees, the SEEMO aims to create a bridge between international media activities and the media developments in the region. One of SEEMO’s main activities is protecting press freedom by helping journalists and media outlets in South East and Central Europe. Over 60 percent of SEEMO’s press releases and letters of protest to governmental and other officials have had positive results. The SEEMO works in cooperation with the International Academy - International Media Center (IA-IMC) and the South East and Central Europe PR Organisation (SECEPRO).

Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) -   
With 80 offices and projects in more than 100 countries worldwide, the KAS contributes to promoting democracy, the rule of law and social market economy. An essential part of this work is the promotion of free and independent media and the support of professional and ethical media coverage.
The Media Program South East Europe, established in 2007, is part of the global media programme of the KAS. It concentrates its efforts in this field in three main directions – education and trainings for journalists, who recognise their social, political, informational and watch-dog role; media policy and media ethics for an independent and multifaceted media landscape; and a professional and value- oriented political communication serving for a better understanding between citizens, politicians and civil society.

Creative Commons LicenseThis article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.
Source information: This article was originally published by the European Centre for Press and Media Freedom –